#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fairytales, Fantasy, Harry Potter, history, Jackie French, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, Lynette Noni, Matilda Saga, May Gibbs, Medoran Chronicles, non-fiction, Phryne Fisher, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Rose Raventhorpe, short stories, Verse novels, Young Adult

Wrap Up #1: 2017 Reading Challenge

2017 Reading Challenge As well as the Australian Women Writer’s Challenge, I embarked on this year, in which I read about fifty-five books, I also did another reading challenge in another group. Since last year, we have gathered on Facebook, with a list of at least twenty categories, sometimes more, to fill with at least… Continue reading Wrap Up #1: 2017 Reading Challenge

Book Industry, Books, challenges

The Australian Reading Hour

It’s a simple idea, but one that has many benefits, and that can introduce children to something that they will hopefully develop a lifetime love for and continue to do for the rest of their lives. What is it? The Australian Reading Hour, this Thursday, the fourteenth of September, is the day we are all… Continue reading The Australian Reading Hour

Books, history, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Beyond the Wild River by Sarah Maine

Title: Beyond the Wild River Author: Sarah Maine Genre: Fiction, Historical Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 26/4/17 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A spellbinding and beautiful novel from a major new voice in fiction, perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Santa Montefiore and Rachel Hore. From the author of THE HOUSE BETWEEN TIDES,… Continue reading Beyond the Wild River by Sarah Maine

Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

Carnivalesque by Neil Jordan

Title: Carnivalesque Author: Neil Jordan Genre: Magical Realism, Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st April 2017 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: It looked like any other carnival, but of course it wasn't…   It had its own little backstreets, its alleyways of hanging bulbs and ghost trains and Punch and Judy stands …… Continue reading Carnivalesque by Neil Jordan

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Books, challenges, history, Reading, Reviews

A Letter from Italy by Pamela Hart

Title: A Letter from Italy Author: Pamela Hart Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Hachette Published: 14th March 2017 Format: Paperback Pages: 353 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: Inspired by the life of the world's first woman war correspondent, Australia's Louise Mack, the most gorgeous love story yet by Pamela Hart. 1917, Italy. Australian journalist Rebecca Quinn is an… Continue reading A Letter from Italy by Pamela Hart

Books, Covers, Fantasy, Harry Potter, Publishers, Reading

Announcement: Cover Reveal for Illustrated Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Since 2015, one of my favourite series has had illustrated editions released for each book, and this year not only marks the twentieth anniversary, already discussed in a previous post, but a new addition to the already released illustrated editions: To coincide with the twentieth anniversary of Harry Potter, the third title in the series,… Continue reading Announcement: Cover Reveal for Illustrated Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

Title: Bone Gap Author: Laura Ruby Genre: Magical Realism, Fiction, Young Adult Publisher: Faber & Faber Published: 22nd February 2017 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: A masterful and seductive tale of love, magic, regret and forgiveness. Winner of the 2016 Michael L. Printz Award. He'd been drawn here by the grass and the… Continue reading Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

Books, Crime/Mystery, Festivals, Publishers, Reading

RebusFest: Thirty Years of Ian Rankin and John Rebus – 1987-2017

2017 marks the thirtieth anniversary of John Rebus in print. Rebus’s first outing, Knots and Crosses, came out in 1987, and his thirtieth adventure, Rather Be The Devil, came out on the third of November 2016, so keep an eye out for my review of this soon. To celebrate this anniversary, Edinburgh, Rebus’s hometown, will be… Continue reading RebusFest: Thirty Years of Ian Rankin and John Rebus – 1987-2017

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, Jackie French, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, Lynette Noni, Matilda Saga, Medoran Chronicles, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Australian Women Writer’s Challenge 2017

Six years ago, in an attempt to read and review more books by Australian Women Writers, the Australian Women Writer’s Challenge came about to encourage readers to read and review more books, and it runs from the first of January to the 31st of December each year. Within the challenge, there are four challenge levels.… Continue reading Australian Women Writer’s Challenge 2017

Books, Reading

Reading in 2017: My Goals

With 2016 coming to an end, I have started thinking about my wrap up post of the books I have read, and the challenge I participated in - a post I will only write once I know my challenge results. This will be included in a 2016 wrap up post of what I have read,… Continue reading Reading in 2017: My Goals