adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Storm Keeper’s Island by Catherine Doyle

Title: The Storm Keeper’s Island Author: Catherine Doyle Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st August 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: WINNER OF THE BAMB YOUNG READERS – MIDDLE GRADE AWARD 2018WINNER OF THE INDEPENDENT BOOKSHOP WEEK BOOK AWARD 2019'Magical in every way' - EOIN COLFERWhen Fionn Boyle sets foot on Arranmore Island, it begins… Continue reading The Storm Keeper’s Island by Catherine Doyle

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Book bingo Seven 2020 Set in a place you dream of visiting (Ireland)

Welcome to my July post for Book Bingo with Theresa  and Amanda. This month, I am checking off a book set in a place that I dream of visiting. For this one, I chose The Good Turn by Dervla McTiernan (released in February this year) which is set in Ireland. I have already been to… Continue reading Book bingo Seven 2020 Set in a place you dream of visiting (Ireland)

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Cormac Reilly, Crime/Mystery, Dervla McTiernan, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, The Nerd Daily

The Good Turn (Cormac Reilly #3) by Dervla McTiernan

Title: The Good Turn (Cormac Reilly #3) Author: Dervla McTiernan Genre: Crime Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 24th February 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Some lines should never be crossed. Police corruption, and investigation that ends in tragedy and the mystery of a little girl’s silence – three unconnected events that will prove… Continue reading The Good Turn (Cormac Reilly #3) by Dervla McTiernan

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Books, challenges, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Leaving Ocean Road by Esther Campion

Title: Leaving Ocean Road Author: Esther Campion Genre: Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 25th July 2017 Format: Paperback Pages: 356 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: From the coast of Australia to Santorini and Ireland, a slice of warm, character-driven fiction in the tradition of Maeve Binchy and Monica McInerney God damn it, Gerry Clancy, couldn't you have… Continue reading Leaving Ocean Road by Esther Campion

Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

Carnivalesque by Neil Jordan

Title: Carnivalesque Author: Neil Jordan Genre: Magical Realism, Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st April 2017 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: It looked like any other carnival, but of course it wasn't…   It had its own little backstreets, its alleyways of hanging bulbs and ghost trains and Punch and Judy stands …… Continue reading Carnivalesque by Neil Jordan

Books, Reading, Reviews

The Stolen Child by Lisa Carey

Title: The Stolen Child Author: Lisa Carey Genre: Fiction Publisher: Hachette Published: 10 January 2017 Format: Paperback Pages: 325 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: On an island where dreams can come true, be careful what you wish for St Brigid's is a remote island off the west coast of Ireland. It is a barren place and its… Continue reading The Stolen Child by Lisa Carey