Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Wherever You Go (Around the World Supper Club) by Monique Mulligan

Title: Wherever You Go (Around the World Supper Club) Author: Monique Mulligan Genre: Fiction Publisher: Pilyara Press Published: 18th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 340 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: A life-shattering tragedy threatens to tear apart chef Amy Bennet’s marriage. Desperate to save it, she moves with her husband Matt to Blackwood, a country town where… Continue reading Wherever You Go (Around the World Supper Club) by Monique Mulligan

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Girl She Was by Rebecca Freeborn

Title: The Girl She Was Author: Rebecca Freeborn Genre: Fiction Publisher: Pantera Press Published:  31st March 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 392 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: ‘She’d long ago stopped wondering whether anyone would find out what she’d done. It was in the past, and Layla didn’t dwell on the past.’ At the cafe in the small… Continue reading The Girl She Was by Rebecca Freeborn

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Cormac Reilly, Crime/Mystery, Dervla McTiernan, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, The Nerd Daily

The Good Turn (Cormac Reilly #3) by Dervla McTiernan

Title: The Good Turn (Cormac Reilly #3) Author: Dervla McTiernan Genre: Crime Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 24th February 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Some lines should never be crossed. Police corruption, and investigation that ends in tragedy and the mystery of a little girl’s silence – three unconnected events that will prove… Continue reading The Good Turn (Cormac Reilly #3) by Dervla McTiernan

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Books, challenges, check in post, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Orange Grove by Kate Murdoch

Title: The Orange Grove Author: Kate Murdoch Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Regal House Publishing Published: 11th October 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 250 Price: $22.90 Synopsis: Blois, 1705. The château of Duc Hugo d’Amboise simmers with rivalry and intrigue. Henriette d’Augustin, one of five mistresses of the duc, lives at the château with her daughter. When… Continue reading The Orange Grove by Kate Murdoch

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

As Happy as Here by Jane Godwin

Title: As Happy as Here Author: Jane Godwin Genre: Fiction Publisher: Lothian Children's Books/Hachette Published: 23rd July 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 275 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A beautiful coming-of-age story about three teenage girls from very different backgrounds who find themselves sharing a hospital ward, for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Fiona Wood Three teenage girls… Continue reading As Happy as Here by Jane Godwin

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Life Before by Carmel Reilly

Title: Life Before Author: Carmel Reilly Genre: Crime/Mystery Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 6th May 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 345 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: Suspense and family secrets surround a pair of estranged siblings in a compelling debut thriller. She knew she should talk to him. But what could she say? Once there had been blame… Continue reading Life Before by Carmel Reilly

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Events, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The True Story of Maddie Bright by Mary-Rose MacColl

Title: The True Story of Maddie Bright Author: Mary-Rose MacColl Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 1st April 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 504 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: In 1920, seventeen-year old Maddie Bright is thrilled to take a job as a serving girl on the royal tour of Australia by Edward who was then… Continue reading The True Story of Maddie Bright by Mary-Rose MacColl

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Book Bingo Five: A book set in the Australian Mountains.

We're now into March (How did that happen?) and my fifth book bingo for the year, and i have checked off seven of my thirty squares now. Initially when I got this card, I though this square - a book set in the Australian Mountains - might be a challenge, because I wasn't sure what… Continue reading Book Bingo Five: A book set in the Australian Mountains.

#loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, history, literary fiction, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Young Adult

Book Bingo Twenty-Three: A Book Everyone is Talking About, and A Book with a One Word Title, and a Book That Became a Movie

Wow, another fortnight, and another book bingo - my 23rd of the year. As this is my second round, Theresa, and Amanda and I have allowed some flexibility and I have used previously read books to fit into categories I may not make by the end of the year but making sure they did not… Continue reading Book Bingo Twenty-Three: A Book Everyone is Talking About, and A Book with a One Word Title, and a Book That Became a Movie

Book Industry, Books, challenges, history, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Victoria and Abdul: The Extraordinary True Story of the Queen’s Closest Confidant by Shrabani Busi

Title: Victoria and Abdul: The Extraordinary True Story of the Queen's Closest Confidant Author: Shrabani Busi Genre: Non-fiction, History Publisher: The History Press Published: 21st Jult 2017 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: Tall, handsome Abdul Karim was just twenty-four years old when he arrived in England from Agra to wait at tables during… Continue reading Victoria and Abdul: The Extraordinary True Story of the Queen’s Closest Confidant by Shrabani Busi