#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Secrets My Father Kept by Rachel Givney

Title: Secrets My Father Kept Secrets My Father Kept by Rachel Givney Author: Rachel Givney Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Penguin Random House Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 432 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Set in Poland on the eve of the Second World War, Secrets My Father Kept is the gripping story of a young woman determined… Continue reading Secrets My Father Kept by Rachel Givney

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Orion Published: 13th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 350 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

#AussieAuthor2021, #loveozya, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Harmony by Richard Yaxley

Title: Harmony Author: Richard Yaxley Genre: Historical Fiction, Young Adult Publisher: Scholastic Australia/Omnibus Books Published: 1st March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $18.99 Synopsis: New YA from PM’s Literary Award Winner, Richard Yaxley. ·  Moving, insightful, unputdownable.·  Compelling themes of love, family, secrets, war. In 1914, Tom Stott falls in love with Gracie O’Donnell,… Continue reading Harmony by Richard Yaxley

Book Industry, Books, Fantasy, humour, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Young Adult

Princess at Heart by Connie Glynn

Title: Princess at Heart Author: Connie Glynn Genre: Fiction Publisher: Penguin Published: 16th February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: Return to the magical world of The Rosewood Chronicles in the fourth book of this gorgeous series, for fans of The Princess Diaries and Harry Potter. Ellie is a rebellious princess hiding her real identity. Lottie is her… Continue reading Princess at Heart by Connie Glynn

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, Interviews, Isolation Publicity, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Isolation Publicity with Sonya Bates

Due to recent events, many Australian authors have had to cancel book launches and festival appearances. For some, this means new novels, series continuations and debut novels are heading into this scary, strange world without much publicity or attention. The good news is, you can still buy books – online or get your local bookstore… Continue reading Isolation Publicity with Sonya Bates

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Writing

Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valour by Ally Carter’

Title: Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valour Author: Ally Carter Genre: Fiction Publisher: Lothian/Hachette Australia Published: 3rd March 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 340 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: New York Times bestselling author Ally Carter's middle grade debut is full of mystery, mayhem, and friendship, and will keep you guessing right until the very end. When 11-year-old April… Continue reading Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valour by Ally Carter’

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The River Home by Hannah Richell

Title: The River Home Author: Hannah Richell Genre: Contemporary Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 25th February 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 360 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: The river can take you home. But the river can also drag you under... The new novel from bestselling author Hannah Richell. A wise and emotionally powerful story of a broken family… Continue reading The River Home by Hannah Richell

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Unforgiving City by Maggie Joel

Title: The Unforgiving City Author: Maggie Joel Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 3rd September 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 425 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: Secrets and lies throw three lives into chaos in the last days of the nineteenth century. Colonial Sydney in the final weeks of the nineteenth century: a city striving for… Continue reading The Unforgiving City by Maggie Joel

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant by Kayte Nunn

Title: The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant Author: Kayte Nunns Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 28th May 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 375 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: A cache of unsent love letters from the 1950s is found in a suitcase on a remote island in this mysterious love story by top ten bestselling author,… Continue reading The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant by Kayte Nunn

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Legacy of Beauregarde by Rosa Fedele

Title: The Legacy of Beauregarde Author: Rosa Fedele Genre: Australian Noir/Suspense Publisher: MoshPit Publishing Published: 10th July 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 424 Price: $39.95 Synopsis:‘You could lose someone down there, couldn’t you? Anyone could get buried under the concrete slab, and no one would even know!’ The Beauregarde women have lived in the shadow of… Continue reading The Legacy of Beauregarde by Rosa Fedele