#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, animals, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Fairytales, Fantasy, Festivals, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Sci-Fi, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, spies, The Girls Who Change the World, Tim Harris, Young Adult

My Reading Journey February 2022

In February I read thirty books and have almost completed my reading challenges. I’ve hit my target for the Aussie Author Reading Challenge. There are only a few books I haven’t reviewed – mostly books I have had to read for my work as a quiz writer haven’t been reviewed. I’ve read a variety of… Continue reading My Reading Journey February 2022

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Paris Takes Over the World: Welcome to New York, USA by Kyla May and Zanni Louise

Title: Paris Takes Over the World: Welcome to New York, USA Author: Kyla May and Zanni Louise Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st March 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 128 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Hi! I’m Paris. I write in my travel journal as I explore the world! Paris is off on a new adventure in… Continue reading Paris Takes Over the World: Welcome to New York, USA by Kyla May and Zanni Louise

#AussieAuthors2022, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Midsummer Garden by Kirsty Manning

Title: The Midsummer Garden Author: Kirsty Manning Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 1st February 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 432 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: From medieval France to contemporary Tasmania, two remarkable women discover their strengths, passions and loves. Travelling between lush gardens in France, windswept coastlines of Tasmania, to Tuscan hillsides and beyond, The… Continue reading The Midsummer Garden by Kirsty Manning

adventure, Alexander McCall-Smith, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Noah Wild and the Floating Zoo by Alexander McCall-Smith

Title: Noah Wild and the Floating Zoo Author: Alexander McCall-Smith Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bloosmbury Published: 3rd August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 128 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Noah looked at Hatty. ‘Imagine having a zoo,’ he said. It’s full-time monkey business on the high seas in this new family adventure from Alexander McCall-Smith, the best-selling author of… Continue reading Noah Wild and the Floating Zoo by Alexander McCall-Smith

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Jacqueline Harvey, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Alice-Miranda in Egypt (Alice-Miranda #20) by Jacqueline Harvey

Title: Alice-Miranda in Egypt (Alice-Miranda #20) Author: Jacqueline Harvey Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Puffin Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 416 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Sun, sand and secrets in the ancient world! The Queen’s Colours leadership program is heading to Egypt and Alice-Miranda and her friends are thrilled. There are hidden tombs to explore, a… Continue reading Alice-Miranda in Egypt (Alice-Miranda #20) by Jacqueline Harvey

#AussieAuthor2021, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Macca the Backpacker by Matt Cosgrove

Title: Macca the Backpacker Macca the Backpacker by Matt Cosgrove Author: Matt Cosgrove Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 24 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: Macca the Alpaca dreams of exploring, so he packs his backpack and sets off on a mountain adventure. But when the going gets tough, how will… Continue reading Macca the Backpacker by Matt Cosgrove

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Paris Takes Over the World by Kyla May

Title: Paris Takes Over the World Paris Takes Over the World by Kyla May Author: Kyla May Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 130 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Hi! I'm Paris. I write in my travel journal as I explore the world! Paris is 10 years old and is off… Continue reading Paris Takes Over the World by Kyla May

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Orion Published: 13th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 350 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

#LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Huda and Me by H. Hayek

Title: Huda and Me Author: H. Hayek Genre: Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 208 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A cheeky, fun and fast-moving tale of two Lebanese-Australian kids who decide to escape their horrible babysitter by running away…to the other side of the world. Huda's sitting in the airport… Continue reading Huda and Me by H. Hayek

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

Literary Tourism: Travel in the Time of COVID

Once upon a time, the world was filled with people travelling across the world, from country to country, and basking in a variety of cultures and experiences. But one day, a nasty virus came and shut everything down. We had to hide away inside, and watch the world slowly change. When this travelling stopped so… Continue reading Literary Tourism: Travel in the Time of COVID