adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Orion Published: 13th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 350 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

#LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Huda and Me by H. Hayek

Title: Huda and Me Author: H. Hayek Genre: Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 208 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A cheeky, fun and fast-moving tale of two Lebanese-Australian kids who decide to escape their horrible babysitter by running away…to the other side of the world. Huda's sitting in the airport… Continue reading Huda and Me by H. Hayek

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

Literary Tourism: Travel in the Time of COVID

Once upon a time, the world was filled with people travelling across the world, from country to country, and basking in a variety of cultures and experiences. But one day, a nasty virus came and shut everything down. We had to hide away inside, and watch the world slowly change. When this travelling stopped so… Continue reading Literary Tourism: Travel in the Time of COVID

#LoveOZMG, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Girl, the Dog and the Writer in Rome by Katrina Nannestad

Title: The Girl, the Dog and the Writer in Rome Author: Katrina Nannestad Genre: Fiction/Travel Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 23rd October 2017 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: For the first ten years of Freja’s life, she and her mother Clementine have roamed the Arctic in search of zoological wonders. Happy, content, together. Freja… Continue reading The Girl, the Dog and the Writer in Rome by Katrina Nannestad

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, check in post, Events, Interviews, Isolation Publicity, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Publishers

Isolation Publicity with Tim Cope

Due to recent events, many Australian authors have had to cancel book launches and festival appearances. For some, this means new novels, series continuations and debut novels are heading into this scary, strange world without much publicity or attention. The good news is, you can still buy books – online or get your local bookstore… Continue reading Isolation Publicity with Tim Cope

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Books and Bites Book Bingo Travel Memoir: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

  A travel memoir is one area I wasn’t sure what I would find – but as with all my challenges, I have been finding fun and inventive ways to interpret the categories I thought I might struggle with. This time I am marking off my thirteenth square and gaining a BINGO for the first… Continue reading Books and Bites Book Bingo Travel Memoir: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction, Writing

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Orion/Hachette Australia Published: 28th April 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 380 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of THE TRAIN TO IMPOSSIBLE PLACES and THE POLAR BEAR EXPLORERS' CLUB. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, Philip Pullman, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, The Book of Dust

The Book of Dust Volume 2: The Secret Commonwealth by Philip Pullman

Title: The Book of Dust Volume 2: The Secret Commonwealth Author: Philip Pullman Genre: Fantasy/Mystery/Steampunk Publisher: Penguin Random House/David Fickling Books Published: 3rd October 2019 Format: Paperback Pages:784 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Master storyteller Philip Pullman continues the incredible journey of Lyra Silvertongue in the second volume of The Book of Dust. It is twenty years since… Continue reading The Book of Dust Volume 2: The Secret Commonwealth by Philip Pullman

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, history, memoir, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Alice to Prague by Tanya Heaslip

Title: Alice to Prague Author: Tanya Heaslip Genre: Memoir/Non-Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 6th May 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 360 Price: $29.99 Synopsis:What happens when a young independent Northern Territory country girl decides to follow her dreams and go off in search of adventures abroad? An honest, often funny, bittersweet memoir of love, loss… Continue reading Alice to Prague by Tanya Heaslip

adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Saving You by Charlotte Nash

Title: Saving You Author: Charlotte Nash Genre: Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 29th January 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 370 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: Three escaped pensioners. One single mother. A road trip to rescue her son. The new emotionally compelling page-turner by Australia's Charlotte Nash In their tiny pale green cottage under the trees, Mallory Cook and her five-year-old… Continue reading Saving You by Charlotte Nash