adventure, Alexander McCall-Smith, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Noah Wild and the Floating Zoo by Alexander McCall-Smith

Title: Noah Wild and the Floating Zoo Author: Alexander McCall-Smith Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bloosmbury Published: 3rd August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 128 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Noah looked at Hatty. ‘Imagine having a zoo,’ he said. It’s full-time monkey business on the high seas in this new family adventure from Alexander McCall-Smith, the best-selling author of… Continue reading Noah Wild and the Floating Zoo by Alexander McCall-Smith

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Jacqueline Harvey, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Alice-Miranda in Egypt (Alice-Miranda #20) by Jacqueline Harvey

Title: Alice-Miranda in Egypt (Alice-Miranda #20) Author: Jacqueline Harvey Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Puffin Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 416 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Sun, sand and secrets in the ancient world! The Queen’s Colours leadership program is heading to Egypt and Alice-Miranda and her friends are thrilled. There are hidden tombs to explore, a… Continue reading Alice-Miranda in Egypt (Alice-Miranda #20) by Jacqueline Harvey

#AussieAuthor2021, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Macca the Backpacker by Matt Cosgrove

Title: Macca the Backpacker Macca the Backpacker by Matt Cosgrove Author: Matt Cosgrove Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 24 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: Macca the Alpaca dreams of exploring, so he packs his backpack and sets off on a mountain adventure. But when the going gets tough, how will… Continue reading Macca the Backpacker by Matt Cosgrove

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Paris Takes Over the World by Kyla May

Title: Paris Takes Over the World Paris Takes Over the World by Kyla May Author: Kyla May Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 130 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Hi! I'm Paris. I write in my travel journal as I explore the world! Paris is 10 years old and is off… Continue reading Paris Takes Over the World by Kyla May

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Orion Published: 13th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 350 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

#LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Huda and Me by H. Hayek

Title: Huda and Me Author: H. Hayek Genre: Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 208 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A cheeky, fun and fast-moving tale of two Lebanese-Australian kids who decide to escape their horrible babysitter by running away…to the other side of the world. Huda's sitting in the airport… Continue reading Huda and Me by H. Hayek

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

Literary Tourism: Travel in the Time of COVID

Once upon a time, the world was filled with people travelling across the world, from country to country, and basking in a variety of cultures and experiences. But one day, a nasty virus came and shut everything down. We had to hide away inside, and watch the world slowly change. When this travelling stopped so… Continue reading Literary Tourism: Travel in the Time of COVID

#LoveOZMG, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Girl, the Dog and the Writer in Rome by Katrina Nannestad

Title: The Girl, the Dog and the Writer in Rome Author: Katrina Nannestad Genre: Fiction/Travel Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 23rd October 2017 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: For the first ten years of Freja’s life, she and her mother Clementine have roamed the Arctic in search of zoological wonders. Happy, content, together. Freja… Continue reading The Girl, the Dog and the Writer in Rome by Katrina Nannestad

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, check in post, Events, Interviews, Isolation Publicity, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Publishers

Isolation Publicity with Tim Cope

Due to recent events, many Australian authors have had to cancel book launches and festival appearances. For some, this means new novels, series continuations and debut novels are heading into this scary, strange world without much publicity or attention. The good news is, you can still buy books – online or get your local bookstore… Continue reading Isolation Publicity with Tim Cope

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Books and Bites Book Bingo Travel Memoir: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

  A travel memoir is one area I wasn’t sure what I would find – but as with all my challenges, I have been finding fun and inventive ways to interpret the categories I thought I might struggle with. This time I am marking off my thirteenth square and gaining a BINGO for the first… Continue reading Books and Bites Book Bingo Travel Memoir: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski