#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Eliza Vanda’s Button Box by Emily Rodda

Title: Eliza Vanda’s Button Box Author: Emily Rodda Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 5th May 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 288 Price: $22.99 Synopsis: From the author of the award-winning His Name was Walter comes another magical mystery story that will delight Emily Rodda fans. Buttons three, attend to me! Take me where I want to… Continue reading Eliza Vanda’s Button Box by Emily Rodda

Book Industry, Books, challenges, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

The Dark Lady by Akala

Title: The Dark Lady Author: Akala Genre: Magical Realism, Historical Fiction Publisher: Hodder/Hachette Australia Published: 27th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: A natural storyteller with a vision of his own, The Dark Lady, Akala's debut novel for teens will enthuse and entertain teenagers and young adults, showing that reading is a true… Continue reading The Dark Lady by Akala

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, biography, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

March 2021 Round Up

https://ashleighmeikle.com.au/2021/03/11/firewatcher-3-vigil-by-kelly-gardiner/ In March 2021, I managed to read 21 books, despite being away for the first ten days of the month for a wedding. Most were by Australian authors – 17 out of 21, and 14 were by Australian Women. I also completed my Aussie Author Challenge this month, and decided to extend to the… Continue reading March 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Emporium of Imagination by Tabitha Bird

Title: The Emporium of Imagination Author: Tabitha Bird Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Penguin Australia Published: 30th March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A captivating novel of magical realism about a fantastical shop that brings comfort, peace and hope to those in need. You won't want to miss the opening of this shop!… Continue reading The Emporium of Imagination by Tabitha Bird

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Grandest Bookshop in the World by Amelia Mellor

Title: The Grandest Bookshop in the World Author: Amelia Mellor Genre: Historical Fiction, Magical Realism Publisher: Affirm Press Published: 29th September 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 304 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Pearl and Vally Cole live in a bookshop. And not just any bookshop. In 1893, Cole’s Book Arcade in Melbourne is the grandest bookshop in the… Continue reading The Grandest Bookshop in the World by Amelia Mellor

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Lost Tide Warriors by Catherine Doyle

Title: The Lost Tide Warriors Author: Catherine Doyle Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 3rd September 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: In the brilliant sequel to The Storm Keeper's Island, winner of the Books are My Bag Readers Award, Fionn Boyle finds himself at the heart of the fight for the island's survival.Fionn… Continue reading The Lost Tide Warriors by Catherine Doyle

#LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

When This Bell Rings by Allison Rushby

Title: When This Bell Rings Author: Allison Rushby Genre: Mystery, fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Published: 2nd September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: What if you could get inside the world of your favourite books? No, really inside them . . . In London's Belgravia, Tamsin lives next door to Edie St Clair, famous author… Continue reading When This Bell Rings by Allison Rushby

Book Industry, Books, Fables, Fantasy, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Piranesi by Susanna Clarke

Title: Piranesi Author: Susanna Clarke Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 15th September 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 272 Price: $27.99 Synopsis: The long-awaited return from the author of the multi-million copy bestselling Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell Piranesi lives in the House. Perhaps he always has? Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell transported over four million readers… Continue reading Piranesi by Susanna Clarke

Book Industry, Books, challenges, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

A Girl Made of Air by Nydia Hetherington

Title: A Girl Made of Air Author: Nydia Hetherington Genre: Historical Fiction, Folklore, Myth, Magical Realism Publisher: Hachette/Quercus Published: 8th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 376 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A lyrical debut packed with myth, magic and folklore, perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern and Angela Carter 'A captivating tale of love and loss and… Continue reading A Girl Made of Air by Nydia Hetherington

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Wonderscape by Jennifer Bell

Title: Wonderscape Author: Jennifer Bell Genre: Fantasy/Magical Realism Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 1st June 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Gaming and time travel collide in this thrilling middle-grade adventure, from bestselling author Jennifer Bell. When Arthur, Ren and Cecily investigate a mysterious explosion, they find themselves trapped in the year 2473.… Continue reading Wonderscape by Jennifer Bell