adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

The Secret Animal Society by Luke Gamble

Title: The Secret Animal Society Author: Luke Gamble Genre: Fantasy, Magical Realism Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st April 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $18.99 Synopsis: A thrilling magical adventure, perfect for animal lovers! The debut novel from real-life vet Luke Gamble, as seen on Sky TV.‘ An irresistible, magical adventure’ Vashti Hardy, author of Wildspark When… Continue reading The Secret Animal Society by Luke Gamble

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Secret of Splint Hall by Katie Cotton

Title: The Secret of Splint Hall Author: Katie Cotton Genre: Historical Fiction/Magical Realism Publisher: Walker Books/Andersen Press Published: 4th May 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $18.99 Synopsis: Two girls must unearth an ancient myth hidden deep beneath the mysterious Splint Hall... 1945. War has ended, but for sisters Flora and Isobel the struggles still… Continue reading The Secret of Splint Hall by Katie Cotton

adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Howling Hag Mystery by Nicki Thornton

Title: The Howling Hag Mystery Author: Nicki Thornton Genre: Mystery Publisher: Chicken House Published: 1st March 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 362 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: When there’s a murder in Twinhills and a hag is heard howling at the local inn, Raven Charming realizes she may not be the only secret witch in the village. With… Continue reading The Howling Hag Mystery by Nicki Thornton

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Bird Singers by Eve Wersocki Morris

Title: The Bird Singers Author: Eve Wersocki Morris Genre: Magical realism Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 8th February 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A thrilling debut from author Eve Wersocki Morris to send shivers down your spine, for fans of Michelle Harrison and Abi Elphinstone. 'The whistling had started on their first night.… Continue reading The Bird Singers by Eve Wersocki Morris

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

The World Between Blinks: Rebellion of the Lost by Amie Kaufman and Ryan Graudin

Title: The World Between Blinks: Rebellion of the Lost Author: Amie Kaufman and Ryan Graudin Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 2nd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Return to the magical world where lost things are found After Jake and Marisol's last adventure in the World Between Blinks, the cousins… Continue reading The World Between Blinks: Rebellion of the Lost by Amie Kaufman and Ryan Graudin

#AussieAuthor2021, #AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Ella at Eden, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

December 2021 Reading Wrap Up

In December, I read twenty-five books, some of those were books for quiz writing and others were 2022 releases that I decided to read, review and schedule the post for so I don’t fall behind. As a result, these reviews are not included but the books themselves are. I have also completed all my challenges,… Continue reading December 2021 Reading Wrap Up

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, check in post, Children's Literature, Fantasy, historical fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Grace’s Escape by Louise Park

Title: Grace’s Escape Author: Louise Park Genre: Magical Realism, Historical Fiction Publisher: Berbay Publishing Published: 29th September 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Grace and her mother have moved from Broome to a real-life Victorian castle, steeped in literary history. Intrepid Grace has discovered that she can slip back in time, but what… Continue reading Grace’s Escape by Louise Park

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Grace’s Secrets by Louise Park

Title: Grace’s Secrets Author: Louise Park Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Berbay Publishing Published: 29th September 2019 Format: Hardcover Pages: 136 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: When twelve-year-old Grace trades her tropical home in Western Australia for a faraway castle, Victorian costumes and a village trapped in time she thinks it’s the fresh start she desperately needs. But… Continue reading Grace’s Secrets by Louise Park

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Christmas, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Tinsel: The Girls who Invented Christmas by Sibéal Pounder

Title: Tinsel: The Girls who Invented Christmas Author: Sibéal Pounder Genre: Christmas, Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 3rd November 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 320 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: What if somewhere along the way we've all got the Santa story a bit wrong...? Join Blanche Claus and her best friend Rinki for a funny festive sleigh ride… Continue reading Tinsel: The Girls who Invented Christmas by Sibéal Pounder

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Chime Seekers by Ross Montgomery

Title: The Chime Seekers Author: Ross Montgomery Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Walker Books Published: 3rd November 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Price: $18.99 Synopsis: From the Costa-shortlisted and critically acclaimed author of the bestselling The Midnight Guardians comes a middle-grade fantasy adventure about siblings, courage and the magic that hides in the cracks. Step into a world… Continue reading The Chime Seekers by Ross Montgomery