#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Dervla McTiernan, Ella at Eden, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, Kensy and Max, literary fiction, middle grade, Miss Mary-Kate, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, spies, Young Adult

May 2022 Reading Round-Up

In May, I managed to read 26 books. All were review books, and most were Australian, and twenty-three were  by women. I have almost completed all my chosen challenges – with one category in the Dymocks Reading Challenge and one in the QBD Reading Challenge left. Some reviews are scheduled for June and July as… Continue reading May 2022 Reading Round-Up

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Rise of the School of Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

Title: Rise of the School of Good and Evil Author: Soman Chainani Genre: Fantasy Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 1st June 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 368 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: The battle between Good and Evil begins. Two brothers. One Good. One Evil. Together they watch over the Endless Woods. Together they choose the students for the… Continue reading Rise of the School of Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

The Secret Animal Society by Luke Gamble

Title: The Secret Animal Society Author: Luke Gamble Genre: Fantasy, Magical Realism Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st April 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $18.99 Synopsis: A thrilling magical adventure, perfect for animal lovers! The debut novel from real-life vet Luke Gamble, as seen on Sky TV.‘ An irresistible, magical adventure’ Vashti Hardy, author of Wildspark When… Continue reading The Secret Animal Society by Luke Gamble

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Young Adult

The Boy Who Hatched Monsters by T.C. Shelley

Title: The Boy Who Hatched Monsters Author: T.C. Shelley Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 29th March 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Sam's life has always been strange. After all, his family have no idea that he's half monster, half fairy.But now he's keeping an even bigger secret. He alone has the power… Continue reading The Boy Who Hatched Monsters by T.C. Shelley

#AussieAuthors2022, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Fantasy, literary fiction, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Her Fierce Creatures by Maria Lewis

Title: Her Fierce Creatures Author: Maria Lewis Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 8th March 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: The new gripping female-led fantasy from author Maria Lewis with her trademark brand of feisty female heroines, world-building and a bit of romance, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J Maas… Continue reading Her Fierce Creatures by Maria Lewis

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Bird Singers by Eve Wersocki Morris

Title: The Bird Singers Author: Eve Wersocki Morris Genre: Magical realism Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 8th February 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A thrilling debut from author Eve Wersocki Morris to send shivers down your spine, for fans of Michelle Harrison and Abi Elphinstone. 'The whistling had started on their first night.… Continue reading The Bird Singers by Eve Wersocki Morris

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Chime Seekers by Ross Montgomery

Title: The Chime Seekers Author: Ross Montgomery Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: Walker Books Published: 3rd November 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Price: $18.99 Synopsis: From the Costa-shortlisted and critically acclaimed author of the bestselling The Midnight Guardians comes a middle-grade fantasy adventure about siblings, courage and the magic that hides in the cracks. Step into a world… Continue reading The Chime Seekers by Ross Montgomery

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Medusa: The Girl Behind the Myth by Jessie Burton

Title: Medusa: The Girl Behind the Myth Author: Jessie Burton Genre: Mythology Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 1st November 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 224 Price: $22.99 Synopsis: A dazzling, feminist retelling of Greek myth from the internationally bestselling author of The Miniaturist, stunningly illustrated by Olivia Lomenech Gill.Exiled to a far-flung island by the whims of the… Continue reading Medusa: The Girl Behind the Myth by Jessie Burton

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Magic of Magnolia Moon by Edwina Wyatt

Title: The Magic of Magnolia Moon Author: Edwina Wyatt Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Published: 6th October 2021 Format: Hardback Pages: 160 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: For Magnolia Moon, magic is a way to solve problems. And when you're starting a new class at school and your best friend doesn't live across the road anymore, problems… Continue reading The Magic of Magnolia Moon by Edwina Wyatt

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, biography, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Events, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, LJM Owen, memoir, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Phryne Fisher, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, quiz books, Reading, Real Pigeons, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, spies, Young Adult

September 2021 Round Up

In September, I read 21 books, and most of those were again Australian authors, with two quiz books and 19 review books. To date on the day of writing this, I have read 217 books, and September saw me reach 215 books for 2021. I completed my Dymocks Reading Challenge, leaving only my QBD Challenge… Continue reading September 2021 Round Up