adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Cressida Cowell, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times by Cressida Cowell

Title: Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times Author: Cressida Cowell Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books/Hachette Published: 24th September 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 460 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: The No.1 bestselling series from the author of HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON, Cressida Cowell. Enter a land of wizards, warriors, mythical creatures and powerful Magic in an exciting… Continue reading Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times by Cressida Cowell

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Around the World Supper Club, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Harry Potter, historical fiction, history, humour, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Pippa's Island, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Rowland Sinclair, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, Sulari Gentill

Books and Bites Bingo Update Two

In the past four months, I have managed to fill in twenty out of twenty-five categories in Books and Bites Bingo with Monique Mulligan. I have a few of the others planned, and others I need to decide. I have three months to complete this and my other challenges and hope that I can make… Continue reading Books and Bites Bingo Update Two

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, biography, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Charlotte Barkla, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Edie's Experiments, Ella at Eden, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, Monty's Island, mythology, non-fiction, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, short stories, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily, Tim Harris, Toffle Towers

July 2020 Wrap Up

In July, I read twenty-two books, and have managed to complete my Australian Women Writer’s Challenge – which I am still going with, and my Book Bingo Challenge. All those posts are written and scheduled, as are several others for reviews and my isolation publicity series, which ends on the twenty-first of this month. I’ve… Continue reading July 2020 Wrap Up

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Author interviews, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Charlotte Barkla, Children's Literature, classics, Crime/Mystery, Edie's Experiments, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Jacqueline Harvey, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, Kensy and Max, literary fiction, middle grade, Miss Lily, Monty's Island, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, poetry, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, satire, series, Speculative fiction, spies, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily, Tim Harris, Toffle Towers, Writing, Young Adult

June 2020 Wrap Up

  The Modern Mrs Darcy 11/12 AWW2020 – 67/25 Book Bingo – 12/12 The Nerd Daily Challenge 45/52 Dymocks Reading Challenge 23/25 Books and Bites Bingo 15/25 STFU Reading Challenge: 9/12 General Goal –110/165   In June, I managed to read eighteen books in total, fourteen by Australian authors, and all but one of those… Continue reading June 2020 Wrap Up

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

Title: The Monstrous Devices Author: Damien Love Genre: Science Fiction, Adventure Publisher: Bloomsbury/Rock the Boat Published: 19th May 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A cinematic and original page-turner for fans of Indiana Jones and Alex Rider On a winter's day, twelve-year old Alex receives a package in the mail: an old tin… Continue reading The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reviews, Sci-Fi

Books and Bites Bingo – Scary: The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

Choosing a scary book was hard for me – I tend not to read much horror fiction that most people would classify as scary. So I always knew I would struggle with this square and how I would interpret it. As I move through this bingo, some squares have been open to interpretation, others not… Continue reading Books and Bites Bingo – Scary: The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, Young Adult

Trials of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

Title: Trials of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle Author: Rick Riordan Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Puffin Published: 1st May 2017 Format: Paperback Pages: 528 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: The first book in a breathtaking new series from Percy Jackson creator, Rick Riordan. How do you punish an immortal? By making him human. After angering his father Zeus, the… Continue reading Trials of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan