#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Painting by Alison Booth

Title: The Painting The Painting by Alison Booth Author: Alison Booth Genre: Mystery/Historical Fiction/Literary Publisher: Red Door Press Published: 15th July 2021 (28th July Australia) Format: Paperback Pages: 300 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: When Anika Molnar flees her home country of Hungary not long before the break-up of the Soviet Union, she carries only a small… Continue reading The Painting by Alison Booth

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Small Acts of Defiance by Michelle Wright

Title: Small Acts of Defiance Small Acts of Defiance Author: Michelle Wright Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 1st June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: The remarkable debut novel from acclaimed prize-winning short fiction writer Michelle Wright, author of Fine. 'A beautifully intimate portrait that celebrates the courage and resilience of… Continue reading Small Acts of Defiance by Michelle Wright

#LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Pawcasso by Remy Lai

Title: Pawcasso Author: Remy Lai Genre: Contemporary, Graphic novel Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 18th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A delightful graphic novel about friendship and belonging, starring the world's most adorable dog, perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Guts. Every Saturday, Pawcasso trots into town with a basket, a shopping… Continue reading Pawcasso by Remy Lai

Book bingo, Books, challenges, check in post, history, non-fiction

Books and Bites Bingo That book you keep putting off: The Louvre by James Gardiner

When it came to a book I keep putting off, it was hard. I usually don’t put a book off for the reasons many people do – it’s something they don’t want to explore yet, or something they’re being forced to read. For me, it came down to one that I had to put off… Continue reading Books and Bites Bingo That book you keep putting off: The Louvre by James Gardiner

Book Industry, Books, check in post, Children's Literature, classics, Events, history, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Alice: Curiouser and Curiouser by Kate Bailey

Title: Alice: Curiouser and Curiouser Author: Kate Bailey Genre: Non-Fiction/Exhibition Guide Publisher: V&A Publications Published: 2nd July 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 224 Price: $79.99 Synopsis: Lewis Carroll's Alice in Wonderland is a cultural phenomenon. First published in 1865, it has never been out of print and has been translated into 170 languages. But why does… Continue reading Alice: Curiouser and Curiouser by Kate Bailey

Books, challenges, check in post, history, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Louvre: The Many Lives of the World’s Most Famous Museum by James Gardner

Title: The Louvre: The Many Lives of the World’s Most Famous Museum Author: James Gardner Genre: Non-fiction, History Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 2nd July 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 416 Price: $39.99 Synopsis: A meticulously crafted, sparkling history of the legendary museum in Paris. Almost nine million people from all over the world flock to… Continue reading The Louvre: The Many Lives of the World’s Most Famous Museum by James Gardner

animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, short stories

Evie and Pog: Party Perfect by Tania McCartney

Title: Evie and Pog: Party Perfect Author: Tania McCartney Genre: Fiction Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 20th April 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 144 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: In the bestselling tradition of Ella and Olivia, comes a further book in a new series for early readers about best friends, Evie and Pog. High in a tree house… Continue reading Evie and Pog: Party Perfect by Tania McCartney

biography, Book Industry, Books, challenges, history, non-fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Venus and Aphrodite: History of a Goddess by Bettany Hughes

Title: Venus and Aphrodite: History of a Goddess Author: Bettany Hughes Genre: Biography, History, Non-Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 12th November 2019 Format: Hardcover Pages: 242 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: A vivid history of the ancient goddess Venus by the bestselling historian and broadcaster Bettany Hughes Through ancient art, evocative myth, exciting archaeological revelations and philosophical… Continue reading Venus and Aphrodite: History of a Goddess by Bettany Hughes

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, check in post, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Artist’s Portrait by Julie Keys

Title: The Artist's Portrait Author: Julie Keys Genre: Mystery/Literary/Historical Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 26th March 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 290 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A story about art, murder, and making your place in history. Whatever it was that drew me to Muriel, it wasn't her charm. In 1992, morning sickness drives Jane to pre-dawn walks… Continue reading The Artist’s Portrait by Julie Keys

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, classics, Events, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Kate Forsyth, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Beauty in Thorns Revisited – And Stepping into the World of The Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood in Canberra.

In 2017, I was lucky enough to be approached by Penguin Random House to review Kate Forsyth’s book, Beauty in Thorns, the story of the Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood, and in particular, William Morris (Topsy), Ned Burne-Jones, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, and the women who inspired them:  Janey Burden, Lizzie Siddal, and Georgie MacDonald, and in the final… Continue reading Beauty in Thorns Revisited – And Stepping into the World of The Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood in Canberra.