#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Blog Tour, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Dervla McTiernan, Ella at Eden, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Jacqueline Harvey, Junior Fiction, Kensy and Max, literary fiction, middle grade, Miss Mary-Kate, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, spies, Young Adult

May 2022 Reading Round-Up

In May, I managed to read 26 books. All were review books, and most were Australian, and twenty-three were  by women. I have almost completed all my chosen challenges – with one category in the Dymocks Reading Challenge and one in the QBD Reading Challenge left. Some reviews are scheduled for June and July as… Continue reading May 2022 Reading Round-Up

Books

Remarkably Ruby by Terri Libenson

Title: Remarkably Ruby Author: Terri Libenson Genre: Fiction Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 1st June 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 384  Price: $17.99 Synopsis: REMARKABLY RUBY is the sixth and latest book in the best-selling Emmie & Friends series. This time, the spotlight is on that fleeting background character we’ve all come to know and love as… Continue reading Remarkably Ruby by Terri Libenson

#AussieAuthors2022, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Aussie authors, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Sherlock Bones and the Art and Science Alliance by Renee Treml

Title: Sherlock Bones and the Art and Science Alliance Author: Renee Treml Genre: Science Fiction Mystery Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 3rd May 2022 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: The intrepid Sherlock Bones and his quietly funny sidekick, Watts, and their animal friends are back to sneak around the museum and solve any… Continue reading Sherlock Bones and the Art and Science Alliance by Renee Treml

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

Title: Treasure in the Lake Author: Jason Pamment Genre: Adventure, fantasy Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 14th September 2021 Format: Paperback, Graphic novel Pages: 208 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost. Grand adventures often begin… Continue reading Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Allergic by Author:  Megan Wagner Lloyd and Michelle Mee Nutter

Title: Allergic Author:  Megan Wagner Lloyd and Michelle Mee Nutter Genre: Fiction, Graphic Novel Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st August 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: A new graphic novel aimed at middle-grade readers.Gives children a better understanding of allergic reactions.With illustrations by Michelle Mee Nutter, Megan Wagner Lloyd draws on her own… Continue reading Allergic by Author:  Megan Wagner Lloyd and Michelle Mee Nutter

adventure, animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fantasy, humour, Jasper Fforde, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

Ham Helsing, Vampire Hunter by Rich Moyer

Title: Ham Helsing, Vampire Hunter Author: Rich Moyer Genre: Fantasy, Horror, Graphic Novel Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: Pigs don’t fly . . . but they do hunt vampires! ·  The first in a rip-roaring new graphic novel adventure series from award-winning animator Rich Moyer. ·… Continue reading Ham Helsing, Vampire Hunter by Rich Moyer

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Super Geeks: Planet Pancake by James Hart

Title: Super Geeks: Planet Pancake Author: James Hart Genre: Science Fiction Publisher: Puffin Published: 2nd July 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 208 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Zeek and Arnie are back in another hilarious action-packed adventure featuring pirates, pancakes and the edge of the world . . . When Zeek and Arnie hear about a heap of… Continue reading Super Geeks: Planet Pancake by James Hart

#LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Pawcasso by Remy Lai

Title: Pawcasso Author: Remy Lai Genre: Contemporary, Graphic novel Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 18th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A delightful graphic novel about friendship and belonging, starring the world's most adorable dog, perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Guts. Every Saturday, Pawcasso trots into town with a basket, a shopping… Continue reading Pawcasso by Remy Lai

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

The Holocaust: A Chronicle of History and Hope by Hugh Dolan, illustrated by Adrian Barbu

Title: The Holocaust: A Chronicle of History and Hope Author: Hugh Dolan, illustrated by Adrian Barbu Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Press Australia Published: 1st April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 80 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Age 9+ ·  Powerful, moving, graphic novel ·  Personal stories against a broad historical context ·  Incorporates original images and documents… Continue reading The Holocaust: A Chronicle of History and Hope by Hugh Dolan, illustrated by Adrian Barbu

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction

Challenge Completed: Aussie Authors Challenge

When I started this challenge, I thought it would take me a little longer than three months, given I primarily read books by Australian women, and thought I’d be searching more for books by Australian men. However, I got lucky, and with so many releases, I managed to complete this challenge by March, well ahead… Continue reading Challenge Completed: Aussie Authors Challenge