animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

We Were Wolves by Jason Cockcroft

Title: We Were Wolves We Were Wolves by Jason Cockcroft Author: Jason Cockcroft Genre: Fiction Publisher: Walker Books/Andersen Press Published: 2nd June 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 216 Price: $26.99 Synopsis: An intense, darkly spellbinding story of a boy awaiting his father's return from prison as an ancient woodland awakes Boy lives in a caravan on… Continue reading We Were Wolves by Jason Cockcroft

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Maria’s Island by Victoria Hislop

Title: Maria’s Island Maria's Island by Victoria Hislop Author: Victoria Hislop Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Walker Books Published: 2nd June 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 128 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: A dramatic and moving story set in the same world as the international bestseller The Island from the celebrated novelist Victoria Hislop. The absorbing story of the Cretan village… Continue reading Maria’s Island by Victoria Hislop

animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, history, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Great Barrier Reef by Helen Scales and Lisk Feng

Title: The Great Barrier Reef Author: Helen Scales and Lisk Feng Genre: Non-Fiction Publisher: Walker Books/Flying Eye Books Published: 2nd June 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 88 Price: $34.99 Synopsis: Nearly 400,000 square kilometres of dazzling colour, intricate ecosystems and unique creatures large and small: The Great Barrier Reef is one of the great natural wonders… Continue reading The Great Barrier Reef by Helen Scales and Lisk Feng

animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Twitch by M.G. Leonard

Title: Twitch Twitch by M.G. Leonard Author: M.G. Leonard Genre: Mystery Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 2nd June 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Price: $18.99 Synopsis: The internationally bestselling author of Beetle Boy writes a thrilling mystery adventure about friendship, bravery and the wonderful world of birds, starring a birdwatching detective called Twitch. Can a birdwatcher outwit… Continue reading Twitch by M.G. Leonard

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

PAWS by Kate Foster

Title: PAWS Author: Kate Foster Genre: Fiction, Contemporary Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 7th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: At home, Alex’s best friend is Kevin the cockapoo, although what he wants most of all is a friend at school. But that is harder than he ever expected. A touching story… Continue reading PAWS by Kate Foster

#LoveOZMG, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Fish Kid and the Turtle Torpedo by Kylie Howarth

Title: Fish Kid and the Turtle Torpedo Author: Kylie Howarth Genre: Fiction Publisher: Walker Books Published: 3rd March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 160 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Two troubled turtles and one sinking friendship. Can Fish Kid save them all or will it end in turtle disaster? Fish Kid’s third epic ocean adventure is set on… Continue reading Fish Kid and the Turtle Torpedo by Kylie Howarth

#LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Introducing D’Lila LaRue by Nette Hilton and A. Yi

Title: Introducing D’Lila LaRue Author: Nette Hilton and A. Yi Genre: Fiction Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 3rd March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 128 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: D’Lila LaRue lives in the smallest house with the neatest fence and the rosiest garden in the street with her trusty sidekick, Nanny-Anny (who is probably very old… Continue reading Introducing D’Lila LaRue by Nette Hilton and A. Yi

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, Festivals, historical fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes

Title: The House at the Edge of Magic Author: Amy Sparkes Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 6th January 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A quirky, funny and fast-paced middle grade fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Kaye Umansky, Sophie Anderson and Peter Bunzl. Nine is an orphan pickpocket determined to… Continue reading The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

The Good Hawk by Joseph Elliott

Title: The Good Hawk Author: Joseph Elliott Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 1st February 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 368 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A rich fantasy adventure trilogy, full of warring clans, deadly shadows and devastating plagues... If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back? Agatha patrols the sea… Continue reading The Good Hawk by Joseph Elliott

#LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Belinda Murrell, biography, Blog Tour, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, CBCA, challenges, Children's Literature, classics, Cormac Reilly, Crime/Mystery, Ella at Eden, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Jane Austen, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, mythology, non-fiction, Picture Books, Pippa's Island, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Rowland Sinclair, Scholastic, series, Speculative fiction, Sulari Gentill, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

Book Bingo Wrap Up Post

  This year, I participated in Book Bingo again with Theresa Smith Writes, and Mrs B’s Book Reviews. This year, we took a different approach – twelve squares, one a month, on the second Saturday of each month. The categories were also fairly open – giving us scope to interpret them as we saw fit… Continue reading Book Bingo Wrap Up Post