animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

The Underdogs by Tracey West

Title: The Underdogs Author: Tracey West Genre: Humour Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 160 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Welcome to the town of Barksdale, where the canine residents strive for perfection. Every shopkeeper claims to be the ‘best groomer’ or sell the ‘best biscuits.’ And at Barksdale Academy, the pressure is… Continue reading The Underdogs by Tracey West

#LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Pet Sitters: Gus Makes a Fuss by Ella Shine

Title: Pet Sitters: Gus Makes a Fuss Author: Ella Shine Genre: Contemporary Fiction Publisher: Puddle Dog Press Published: November 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 60 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Two pet sitters. One talking cat. What could possibly go wrong? Best friends Cassie and Lina would love to take a pet to the Pet Parade but it's… Continue reading Pet Sitters: Gus Makes a Fuss by Ella Shine

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Young Adult

April 2021 Round Up

In April, I read 17 books, mostly Australian, across various genres and issues and styles, aimed at different age groups. I read a lot for kids, from picture books to middle grade books, young adult and adult. I also chipped away at more of my challenges, and have extended my Aussie Author Challenge beyond the… Continue reading April 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Feelings #3: The Worried Elephant by Phillip Gwynne

Title: Feelings #3: The Worried Elephant Author: Phillip Gwynne Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 24 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: There is so much bad news in the world. Elephant is worried. So worried that he can’t do any of the activities he loves anymore. Can Elephant learn to manage… Continue reading Feelings #3: The Worried Elephant by Phillip Gwynne

#AussieAuthor2021, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Winner, Winner Bin Chicken Dinner by Kate and Jol Temple

Title: Winner, Winner Bin Chicken Dinner Author: Kate and Jol Temple Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st May 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 24 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Hilarious sequel to the popular picture book, BIN CHICKEN, by Kate and Jol Temple, award-winning authors of Room on Our Rock A very fun rhyming adventure about the… Continue reading Winner, Winner Bin Chicken Dinner by Kate and Jol Temple

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction

Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows by Denis Knight and Cristy Burne

Title: Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows Author: Denis Knight and Cristy Burne Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Lothian Children’s Books Published: 27th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 250 Price: $16.99 Synopsis:  A seriously smart and funny new series about a reluctant sorcerer's apprentice who would rather study science than magic, which asks the question: In… Continue reading Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows by Denis Knight and Cristy Burne

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Michaela Mason’s Big List of 23 Worries by Alexa Moses

Title: Michaela Mason’s Big List of 23 Worries Author: Alexa Moses Genre: Contemporary Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 192 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: ‘I’ve been making lists ever since I could write. It relaxes me.By writing my worries down, I feel as if I’m removing them from my mind and… Continue reading Michaela Mason’s Big List of 23 Worries by Alexa Moses

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Traffic: A Sandi Kent Mystery by Robin Gregory

Title: Traffic: A Sandi Kent Mystery Author: Robin Gregory Genre: Crime Publisher: Clan Destine Press Published: 1st December 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 230 Price: $29.95 Synopsis: In Robin Gregory's Traffic, Melbourne Private Investigator Sandi Kent has her hopes for an easy December dashed when two complicated cases crash into her lap. First, she is hired by her volatile… Continue reading Traffic: A Sandi Kent Mystery by Robin Gregory

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

Title: The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean Author: L.D. Lapinski Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Hachette/Orion Published: 13th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 350 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co. At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to… Continue reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean by L.D. Lapinski

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, historical fiction, history, Jackie French, literary fiction, Miss Lily, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, spies

Legends of the Lost Lilies by Jackie French

Title: Legends of the Lost Lilies Author: Jackie French Genre: Historical Fiction, Thriller, Espionage Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 7th April 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 448 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: The final and thrilling conclusion to the popular and bestselling Miss Lily series A mysterious telegram that says, 'Lily needs you' arrives just before a plane from… Continue reading Legends of the Lost Lilies by Jackie French