#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, Friday Barnes, historical fiction, history, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Monty's Island, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, series, Speculative fiction, The Modern Mrs Darcy

January 2021 Wrap Up

In January 2021, I read fifteen books, and reviewed seventeen – two were read in 2020 but only due for publication in early January. Of these books, most were Australian authors, and one was by a male author, whilst another was a collaboration with a woman and a man. Many were kids’ books, as this… Continue reading January 2021 Wrap Up

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Storm Keeper’s Island by Catherine Doyle

Title: The Storm Keeper’s Island Author: Catherine Doyle Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 1st August 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 320 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: WINNER OF THE BAMB YOUNG READERS – MIDDLE GRADE AWARD 2018WINNER OF THE INDEPENDENT BOOKSHOP WEEK BOOK AWARD 2019'Magical in every way' - EOIN COLFERWhen Fionn Boyle sets foot on Arranmore Island, it begins… Continue reading The Storm Keeper’s Island by Catherine Doyle

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

Loner by Georgina Young

Title: Loner Author: Georgina Young Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: Text Publishing Published: 4th August 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: Lona has dropped out of art school and no one is quite sure why, least of all Lona. It’s just that nothing in her life seems to make sense anymore, including art. She… Continue reading Loner by Georgina Young

animals, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Violet Veil Mysteries: A Case of Grave Danger by Sophie Cleverly

Title: The Violet Veil Mysteries: A Case of Grave Danger Author: Sophie Cleverly Genre: Historical Fiction, Crime Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 3rd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 336 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A breakout new detective series, from the author of the spine-tingling SCARLET AND IVY series, beautifully illustrated by Hannah Peck. Violet Veil wants nothing… Continue reading The Violet Veil Mysteries: A Case of Grave Danger by Sophie Cleverly

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fantasy, historical fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

The Hatmakers by Tamzin Merchant

Title: The Hatmakers Author: Tamzin Merchant Genre: Fantasy/Historical Fiction Publisher: Puffin Published: 2nd February 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The first adventure in a spellbinding new magical world. Cordelia comes from a long line of magical milliners, who weave alchemy and enchantment into every hat. In Cordelia's world, Making - crafting items… Continue reading The Hatmakers by Tamzin Merchant

#LoveOZMG, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Friday Barnes, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, R.A. Spratt, Reading, Reviews, series

Friday Barnes: No Escape by R.A. Spratt

Title: Friday Barnes: No Escape Author: R.A. Spratt Genre: Mystery Publisher: Puffin Published: 2nd February 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 288 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: Friday Barnes is back with a new mystery to be solved. It’s two years later . . . Friday steps out of prison, a shell of her former self. She’s still wearing… Continue reading Friday Barnes: No Escape by R.A. Spratt

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, Festivals, historical fiction, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes

Title: The House at the Edge of Magic Author: Amy Sparkes Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 6th January 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A quirky, funny and fast-paced middle grade fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Kaye Umansky, Sophie Anderson and Peter Bunzl. Nine is an orphan pickpocket determined to… Continue reading The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Shiver by Allie Reynolds

Title: Shiver Author: Allie Reynolds Genre: Thriller Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 27th January 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 425 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: In this propulsive locked-room thriller, a reunion weekend in the French Alps turns deadly when five friends discover someone has deliberately stranded them in a deserted mountaintop resort When Milla is invited to a reunion in… Continue reading Shiver by Allie Reynolds

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, The Modern Mrs Darcy

Cry of the Firebird by T.M. Clark

Title: Cry of the Firebird Author: T.M. Clark Genre: Thriller/Mystery Publisher: HarperCollins Published: 18th November 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: In the badlands of Africa, a resourceful doctor fights to save her patients' lives. Australian thriller writer T.M. Clark returns with a vivid, action-packed adventure in the tradition of Wilbur Smith. South… Continue reading Cry of the Firebird by T.M. Clark

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fairytales, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, short stories

Gender Swapped Fairy Tales by Karrie Fransman and Jonathon Plackett

Title: Gender Swapped Fairy Tales Author: Karrie Fransman and Jonathon Plackett Genre: Fairy Tales, Literary Fiction Publisher: Faber/Allen and Unwin Published: 5th January 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 208 Price: $39.99 Synopsis: Imagine a world where kings prick their fingers as they sew, wolves wear heels, and princesses race to rescue sleeping princes... People have been… Continue reading Gender Swapped Fairy Tales by Karrie Fransman and Jonathon Plackett