adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

The Unadoptables by Hana Tooke

Title: The Unadoptables Author: Hana Tooke Genre: Fantasy, Historical Fiction Publisher: Puffin Published: 2nd July 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 400 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: The amazing humour and world-building of Nevermoor meets the wisdom and warmth of Rooftoppers in this most un-ordinary adventure about five amazing children . . . 'Milou,' Lotta said softly. 'We need adoption papers to leave.… Continue reading The Unadoptables by Hana Tooke

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Futuristic Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Speculative fiction

Wonderscape by Jennifer Bell

Title: Wonderscape Author: Jennifer Bell Genre: Fantasy/Magical Realism Publisher: Walker Books Australia Published: 1st June 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Gaming and time travel collide in this thrilling middle-grade adventure, from bestselling author Jennifer Bell. When Arthur, Ren and Cecily investigate a mysterious explosion, they find themselves trapped in the year 2473.… Continue reading Wonderscape by Jennifer Bell

#LoveOZMG, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Emily Rodda, Fantasy, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Monty's Island, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, short stories

Monty’s Island: Scary Mary and the Stripe Spell by Emily Rodda and Lucinda Gifford (Illustrator)

Title: Monty’s Island: Scary Mary and the Stripe Spell Author: Emily Rodda and Lucinda Gifford (Illustrator) Genre: Adventure Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: March 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 176 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Monty lives on a perfect island in the middle of a magical sea. Sometimes the sea throws up something interesting … and Monty… Continue reading Monty’s Island: Scary Mary and the Stripe Spell by Emily Rodda and Lucinda Gifford (Illustrator)

adventure, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, mythology, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

Title: The Monstrous Devices Author: Damien Love Genre: Science Fiction, Adventure Publisher: Bloomsbury/Rock the Boat Published: 19th May 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A cinematic and original page-turner for fans of Indiana Jones and Alex Rider On a winter's day, twelve-year old Alex receives a package in the mail: an old tin… Continue reading The Monstrous Devices by Damien Love

#loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Phoenix (Firewatcher Chronicles #2) by Kelly Gardiner

Title: Phoenix (Firewatcher Chronicles #2) Author: Kelly Gardiner Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Published: 1st February 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: May 1941. The German bombing campaign is reaching its fiery climax, and Christopher and the firewatchers battle against the flames and huge bombs through the worst night of the Blitz. Christopher… Continue reading Phoenix (Firewatcher Chronicles #2) by Kelly Gardiner

Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Fables, Fantasy, humour, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series, The Modern Mrs Darcy, The Nerd Daily

The Dark Prophecy (Trials of Apollo #2) by Rick Riordan

Title: Trials of Apollo: The Dark Prophecy Author: Rick Riordan Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Penguin Random House Published: 30th April 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 528 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: The second title in Rick Riordan's Trials of Apollo series - set in the action-packed world of Percy Jackson. The god Apollo, cast down to earth and trapped… Continue reading The Dark Prophecy (Trials of Apollo #2) by Rick Riordan

#loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Mermaid Holidays: The Reef Rescue by Delphine Davis and Adele K Thomas (Illustrator)

Title: Mermaid Holidays: The Reef Rescue Author: Delphine Davis and Adele K Thomas (Illustrator) Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Penguin Random House Published: 3rd December 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 128 Price: $9.99 Synopsis: Sign up for Sea Star Reef Summer Camp and join Olivia Ocean, Chloe Coral, Sophia Seashell and Willow Wave for another splashing adventure in… Continue reading Mermaid Holidays: The Reef Rescue by Delphine Davis and Adele K Thomas (Illustrator)

adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Crime/Mystery, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

A Lighthouse in Time (The Adamson Adventures #2) by Sandra Bennett

Title: A Lighthouse in Time (The Adamson Adventures #2) Author: Sandra Bennett Genre: Adventure Publisher: Elephant Tree Publishing Published: August 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 160 Price: $16.00 Synopsis: Zac doesn't believe in ghosts; he's never seen any scientific proof of their existence. Clare is skeptical but open-minded to the possibility. She likes the idea of… Continue reading A Lighthouse in Time (The Adamson Adventures #2) by Sandra Bennett

adventure, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reviews, Roald Dahl, Young Adult

A Pinch of Magic by Michelle Harrison

Title: A Pinch of Magic Author: Michelle Harrison Genre: Fiction Publisher: Simon and Schuster Published: March 2019 Format: Paperback Pages: 368 Price: $16.99 Synopsis:'A SPELLBINDING STORY, STEEPED IN MAGIC. I ADORED IT' - Abi Elphinstone, author of Sky Song  Three sisters trapped by an ancient curse. Three magical objects with the power to change their fate.… Continue reading A Pinch of Magic by Michelle Harrison

#loveozya, adventure, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book bingo, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fantasy, humour, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

Book Bingo Eight – Double Bingo: A Book Set in an exotic location and a book by an author you’ve never read before 

Hello, and welcome to week eight of book bingo with Amanda and Theresa. This week, I'm taking on another double bingo, and ticking off a book set in an exotic location, and a book by an author I have never read before. In all honesty, both books could fit into the second category, and one… Continue reading Book Bingo Eight – Double Bingo: A Book Set in an exotic location and a book by an author you’ve never read before