Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Little Gods by Jenny Ackland

Title: Little Gods Author: Jenny Ackland Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 28th March 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 346 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: A rare, original and stunning novel about a remarkable girl who learns the hard way that the truth doesn't always set you free - with echoes of Jasper Jones, Seven Little Australians and Cloudstreet. As… Continue reading Little Gods by Jenny Ackland

Book Industry, Books, challenges, Crime/Mystery, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Wicked Cometh by Laura Carlin

Title: The Wicked Cometh Author: Laura Carlin Genre: Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction, Mystery Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton, Hachette Australia Published: 13th February, 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 343 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: Even in the darkest of times, you cannot bury the truth . . . A debut historical novel that will appeal to fans of Sarah… Continue reading The Wicked Cometh by Laura Carlin

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Events, Fairytales, Fantasy, Festivals, history, Jackie French, literary fiction, Matilda Saga, non-fiction, Picture Books, plays, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, short stories, Writing, Young Adult

2018 NSW PREMIER’S LITERARY AWARDS

The NSW Government has a long tradition of celebrating and connecting the public with art and literature. The NSW Premier's Literary Awards are an opportunity to highlight the importance of literacy and literature, whilst enjoying and learning from the work of our writers in NSW and Australia. Like other literary awards, this award in highlighting… Continue reading 2018 NSW PREMIER’S LITERARY AWARDS

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Awards, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Events, history, literary fiction, plays, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, short stories, Writing, Young Adult

Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2018 Winners

Each year, the State Premiers of Australia nominate several books across several categories for literary awards, and each of the awards are announced at different times, and have different categories.  The Victorian awards were inaugurated in 1985 to honour Australian writing and are administered by the Wheeler Centre on behalf of the Premier of Victoria.… Continue reading Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2018 Winners

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Secrets at Ocean’s Edge by Kali Napier *Debut novel*

Title: The Secrets at Ocean’s Edge Author: Kali Napier Genre: Historical Fiction/Literary Fiction Publisher: Hachette Australia Published: 30th January 2018 Format: Paperback Pages: 410 Price: $29.99 Synopsis: Every family has secrets that bind them together. A heart-rending story of a guesthouse keeper and his wife who attempt to start over, from devastatingly talented debut author Kali… Continue reading The Secrets at Ocean’s Edge by Kali Napier *Debut novel*

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Four Respectable Ladies Seek Part-Time Husband by Barbara Toner

Title: Four Respectable Ladies Seek Part-Time Husband Author: Barbara Toner Genre: Literary, Historical Publisher: Penguin Random House/Bantam Published: 29th January 2018 Format: Paperback Pages:352 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A charming and witty novel, set in a small country town in 1919. ‘When Adelaide Nightingale, Louisa Worthington, Maggie O’Connell and Pearl McCleary threw caution to the winds… Continue reading Four Respectable Ladies Seek Part-Time Husband by Barbara Toner

Book Industry, Books, challenges, Christmas, Events, history, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Mr. Dickens and His Carol by Samantha Silva

Title: Mr. Dickens and His Carol Author: Samantha Silva Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Faber Factory Plus/Allison and Busby/Allen and Unwin Published: 22nd November 2017 Format: Hardcover Pages: 320 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: ‘A charming, comic, and ultimately poignant Christmas tale about the creation of the most famous Christmas tale ever written. It’s as foggy and haunted… Continue reading Mr. Dickens and His Carol by Samantha Silva

Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, history, literary fiction

The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Steadman

Title: The Light Between Oceans Author: M.L. Steadman Genre: Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction Publisher: Vintage Published: 3rd December 2012 Format: Paperback Pages: 368 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: This mesmerizing Australian novel has been a bestselling book around the world, and Hollywood movie rights were recently snapped up by DreamWorks, with David Heyman (Harry Potter) set to… Continue reading The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Steadman

Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Pacific Room by Michael Fitzgerald

Title: The Pacific Room Author: Michael Fitzgerald Genre: Fiction Publisher: Transit Lounge Published: 1st July 2017 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $29.95 Synopsis: ‘A wonderfully stylistic novel, dreamlike and mesmeric. It moves with ekphrastic cadences, from painting to writing and back again, between the present and the past, both muted and full of nuance, like… Continue reading The Pacific Room by Michael Fitzgerald

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Books, challenges, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Dream Walker by Victoria Carless

Title: The Dream Walker Author: Victoria Carless Genre: YA Literary Fiction Publisher: Hachette/Lothian Published: 27th June 2017 Format: Paperback Pages: 265 Price: $19.99Synopsis: The weight of a secret can drag you under . . . A tender coming-of-age young-adult novel for fans of Gary Crew, Vikki Wakefield and Craig Silvey. Sixteen-year-old Lucy Hart has been… Continue reading The Dream Walker by Victoria Carless