animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Pet Sitters: Glitter Jitters by Ella Shine

Title: Pet Sitters: Glitter Jitters Author: Ella Shine Genre: Fiction Publisher: Puddle Dog Press Published: November 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 60 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Two pet sitters. One talking cat. What could possibly go wrong? Cassie and Lina think Bella the bearded dragon is SO beautiful. Gus is not so sure, and he’s determined to… Continue reading Pet Sitters: Glitter Jitters by Ella Shine

#LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Pet Sitters: Purple Panic by Ella Shine

Title: Pet Sitters: Purple Panic Author: Ella Shine Genre: Contemporary Fiction Publisher: Puddle Dog Press Published: November 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 60 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Two pet sitters. One talking cat. What could possibly go wrong? Princess Gina’s owner is very fussy but Cassie and Lina think they’ll be able to care for her guinea… Continue reading Pet Sitters: Purple Panic by Ella Shine

#LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Pawcasso by Remy Lai

Title: Pawcasso Author: Remy Lai Genre: Contemporary, Graphic novel Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 18th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A delightful graphic novel about friendship and belonging, starring the world's most adorable dog, perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Guts. Every Saturday, Pawcasso trots into town with a basket, a shopping… Continue reading Pawcasso by Remy Lai

animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

The Underdogs by Tracey West

Title: The Underdogs Author: Tracey West Genre: Humour Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 160 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Welcome to the town of Barksdale, where the canine residents strive for perfection. Every shopkeeper claims to be the ‘best groomer’ or sell the ‘best biscuits.’ And at Barksdale Academy, the pressure is… Continue reading The Underdogs by Tracey West

#LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Pet Sitters: Gus Makes a Fuss by Ella Shine

Title: Pet Sitters: Gus Makes a Fuss Author: Ella Shine Genre: Contemporary Fiction Publisher: Puddle Dog Press Published: November 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 60 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Two pet sitters. One talking cat. What could possibly go wrong? Best friends Cassie and Lina would love to take a pet to the Pet Parade but it's… Continue reading Pet Sitters: Gus Makes a Fuss by Ella Shine

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, #loveozya, adventure, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, challenges, check in post, Children's Literature, Crime/Mystery, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, history, humour, Jackie French, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, memoir, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series, Young Adult

April 2021 Round Up

In April, I read 17 books, mostly Australian, across various genres and issues and styles, aimed at different age groups. I read a lot for kids, from picture books to middle grade books, young adult and adult. I also chipped away at more of my challenges, and have extended my Aussie Author Challenge beyond the… Continue reading April 2021 Round Up

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Drum Roll Please…it’s Stevie Louise! by Tanya Hennessy

Title: Drum Roll Please…it’s Stevie Louise! Author: Tanya Hennessy Genre: Comedy Publisher: Allen and Unwin/Albert Street Books Published: 4th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 184 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: A delightfully funny and deeply relatable junior fiction story from one of Australia's most loved multi-media stars. Meet Stevie Louise. She is an entrepreneur (that's like a… Continue reading Drum Roll Please…it’s Stevie Louise! by Tanya Hennessy

#AussieAuthor2021, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic

I Really Want a Pet by Jackie Hosking

Title: I Really Want a Pet Author: Jackie Hosking Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st May 2021 Format: Hardback Pages: 24 Price: $17.99 Synopsis: A sweet and funny picture book about how to get the pet you want. ·  Playful rhyming verses with fun illustrations by Shane McGowan.·  This little girl wants a pet.… Continue reading I Really Want a Pet by Jackie Hosking

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Book Industry, Books, challenges, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Feelings #3: The Worried Elephant by Phillip Gwynne

Title: Feelings #3: The Worried Elephant Author: Phillip Gwynne Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 24 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: There is so much bad news in the world. Elephant is worried. So worried that he can’t do any of the activities he loves anymore. Can Elephant learn to manage… Continue reading Feelings #3: The Worried Elephant by Phillip Gwynne

#AussieAuthor2021, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

Winner, Winner Bin Chicken Dinner by Kate and Jol Temple

Title: Winner, Winner Bin Chicken Dinner Author: Kate and Jol Temple Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st May 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 24 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: Hilarious sequel to the popular picture book, BIN CHICKEN, by Kate and Jol Temple, award-winning authors of Room on Our Rock A very fun rhyming adventure about the… Continue reading Winner, Winner Bin Chicken Dinner by Kate and Jol Temple