animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Jumbo: The Most Famous Elephant Who Ever Lived by Alexandra Stewart and Emily Sutton

Title: Jumbo: The Most Famous Elephant Who Ever Lived Author: Alexandra Stewart, Emily Sutton (Illustrator) Genre: History, Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 3rd November 2020 Format: Hardcover Pages: 48 Price: $24.99 Synopsis: Roll up! Roll up! And meet the incredible, the colossal, the world-famous … JUMBO!Our story begins in 1860, in the mountains of East Africa,… Continue reading Jumbo: The Most Famous Elephant Who Ever Lived by Alexandra Stewart and Emily Sutton

Book Industry, Books, challenges, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, historical fiction, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

A Girl Made of Air by Nydia Hetherington

Title: A Girl Made of Air Author: Nydia Hetherington Genre: Historical Fiction, Folklore, Myth, Magical Realism Publisher: Hachette/Quercus Published: 8th September 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 376 Price: $32.99 Synopsis: A lyrical debut packed with myth, magic and folklore, perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern and Angela Carter 'A captivating tale of love and loss and… Continue reading A Girl Made of Air by Nydia Hetherington

Books, challenges, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Memoirs of a Polar Bear by Yoko Tawada

Title: Memoirs of a Polar Bear Author: Yoko Tawada, translated by Susan Bernofsky Genre: Fiction Publisher: Granta/Allen and Unwin Published: 29th March 2017 Format: Paperback Pages: 256 Price: $27.99 Synopsis: A story of three polar bears: a memoirist who flees the Soviet Union; a dancer in an East Berlin circus; and Knut, a baby bear… Continue reading Memoirs of a Polar Bear by Yoko Tawada

#loveozya, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Books, challenges, history, Jackie French, Matilda Saga, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Young Adult

The Road to Gundagai by Jackie French (Matilda Saga #3)

Title: The Road to Gundagai (Matilda Saga #3) Author: Jackie French Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: HarperCollins Published: 1st December 2013 Format: Paperback Pages: 448 Price: $19.99 Synopsis: Blue Laurence has escaped the prison of her aunt's mansion to join the Magnifico Family Circus, a travelling troupe that brings glamour and laughter to country towns gripped… Continue reading The Road to Gundagai by Jackie French (Matilda Saga #3)