#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Book Industry, Children's Literature, historical fiction, history, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, non-fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Rachel’s War: The Story of an Australian WW1 Nurse Mark Wilson

Title: Rachel’s War: The Story of an Australian WW1 Nurse Author: Mark Wilson Genre: History, historical fiction Publisher: Lothian/Hachette Australia Published: 26th May 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 32 Price: $26.99 Synopsis: An inspiring story about the bravery and sacrifices of Australian nurses in World War I, by award-winning author and illustrator Mark Wilson. Growing up… Continue reading Rachel’s War: The Story of an Australian WW1 Nurse Mark Wilson

animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Pet Sitters: Glitter Jitters by Ella Shine

Title: Pet Sitters: Glitter Jitters Author: Ella Shine Genre: Fiction Publisher: Puddle Dog Press Published: November 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 60 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Two pet sitters. One talking cat. What could possibly go wrong? Cassie and Lina think Bella the bearded dragon is SO beautiful. Gus is not so sure, and he’s determined to… Continue reading Pet Sitters: Glitter Jitters by Ella Shine

animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Fantasy, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Pet Sitters: Tony Takes Off by Ella Shine

Title: Pet Sitters: Tony Takes Off Author: Ella Shine Genre: Fiction Publisher: Puddle Dog Press Published: 1st November 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 60 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Two pet sitters. One talking cat. What could possibly go wrong? ‘No chaos! And no emergencies!’ says Mum when Cassie and Lina pet sit again.But Tony the miniature pony… Continue reading Pet Sitters: Tony Takes Off by Ella Shine

#LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, series

Pet Sitters: Purple Panic by Ella Shine

Title: Pet Sitters: Purple Panic Author: Ella Shine Genre: Contemporary Fiction Publisher: Puddle Dog Press Published: November 2020 Format: Paperback Pages: 60 Price: $12.99 Synopsis: Two pet sitters. One talking cat. What could possibly go wrong? Princess Gina’s owner is very fussy but Cassie and Lina think they’ll be able to care for her guinea… Continue reading Pet Sitters: Purple Panic by Ella Shine

adventure, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

The Lightning Catcher by Clare Weze

Title: The Lightning Catcher Author: Clare Weze Genre: Contemporary Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia Published: 18th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 272 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Alfie has noticed a few things since his family moved to Folding Ford. He really misses life in the city. He and his sister don't exactly fit in here. But the… Continue reading The Lightning Catcher by Clare Weze

#LoveOZMG, animals, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Junior Fiction, literary fiction, middle grade, Picture Books, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Pawcasso by Remy Lai

Title: Pawcasso Author: Remy Lai Genre: Contemporary, Graphic novel Publisher: Allen and Unwin Published: 18th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 240 Price: $16.99 Synopsis: A delightful graphic novel about friendship and belonging, starring the world's most adorable dog, perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Guts. Every Saturday, Pawcasso trots into town with a basket, a shopping… Continue reading Pawcasso by Remy Lai

Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Cardboard Cowboys by Brian Conaghan

Title: Cardboard Cowboys Author: Brian Conaghan Genre: Contemporary Publisher: Bloomsbury Published: 4th May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 352 Price: $15.99 Synopsis: I'm not a genius. Not yet anyway. But Bruce is. Even though I found him living in a house made of cardboard, he's a massive genius. Fact. So this is mine and Bruce's story.… Continue reading Cardboard Cowboys by Brian Conaghan

#AussieAuthor2021, #LoveOZMG, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, Emily Rodda, Fables, Fairytales, Fantasy, literary fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews

Eliza Vanda’s Button Box by Emily Rodda

Title: Eliza Vanda’s Button Box Author: Emily Rodda Genre: Magical Realism Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Published: 5th May 2021 Format: Hardcover Pages: 288 Price: $22.99 Synopsis: From the author of the award-winning His Name was Walter comes another magical mystery story that will delight Emily Rodda fans. Buttons three, attend to me! Take me where I want to… Continue reading Eliza Vanda’s Button Box by Emily Rodda

#AussieAuthor2021, Australian literature, Australian women writers, Book Industry, Books, Dystopia, literary fiction, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Sci-Fi

Stealing Time by Rebecca Bowyer

Title: Stealing Time Author: Rebecca Bowyer Genre: Dystopia, Science Fiction Publisher: StoryAddict Press Published: 23rd March 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: $32.99 Price: 290 Synopsis: They’ll kill to get more time. She’ll die to stop them. In a world where each person’s life span is limited by law, time is a lucrative commodity that some people… Continue reading Stealing Time by Rebecca Bowyer

animals, Book Industry, Books, Children's Literature, humour, Junior Fiction, middle grade, Publishers, Reading, Reviews, Scholastic, series

The Underdogs by Tracey West

Title: The Underdogs Author: Tracey West Genre: Humour Publisher: Scholastic Australia Published: 1st May 2021 Format: Paperback Pages: 160 Price: $14.99 Synopsis: Welcome to the town of Barksdale, where the canine residents strive for perfection. Every shopkeeper claims to be the ‘best groomer’ or sell the ‘best biscuits.’ And at Barksdale Academy, the pressure is… Continue reading The Underdogs by Tracey West